top of page
  • uwrxprn

Don't Let Grades Define You: Tips for Staying Motivated After Exams

Hi, I am a first year student and have not been doing well on my midterms so far. I am still learning my study habits, but everytime I do bad on an exam it gets harder to study for the next one. I see the class average in the mid 70s and I am not getting within that range and it frustrates me that no matter how hard I try or how hard I study I still don't do well. Even though everyone else is able to meet the average. I've been finding it harder and harder to stay motivated, especially now during exam season. I am scared to fail and don't want to fail. Any advice would be appreciated.

 

Response #1:

One thing to remember is that getting into pharmacy school was very competitive, everyone in your class is extremely intelligent. The class average reflects that.

I was in a similar situation as you, pre-pharmacy school my aim for each test was to get above average grades. However, in pharmacy school I really struggled to achieve that and probably didn't get any marks above average my whole first year.

My advice: learn how to not worry about it.

Now that you're in pharmacy school, your grades don't matter as much. Aim to pass and get above 60% and accept the grade you get. The most important thing is you understand the content and will be able to apply your knowledge later on.

I also found once I got to 2A I found the content easier to study since it was more applicable to practice and my specific interests. By 2B I was able to get into a good study habit and my grades increased. But overall your grades don't matter!

You also have the support of faculty at the school: going over your tests to see where you went wrong and asking for advice on how to study differently are some strategies I used.

You can also book an appointment with Kaitlin or Becky to discuss similar things.

If you're not already, try to study with friends to see what they are doing differently and if their strategies could work for you!



Response #2:

Hi phriend! I just want to start off by saying that sharing your concern with us shows how hard you are trying and how great of a pharmacist you will be in the future because you want to improve yourself. As a 2nd year student, I can definitely tell you that your grades will not always be in the average or above average. Try to take first year as a trial and error process and learn from what you are doing. Your grades don’t matter as much as you think. It is the knowledge that you can apply afterwards in coops/rotations/job that matters. Trust me when I say this, not EVERYONE is being able to meet the average. Pharmacy school is not easy, so don’t be so hard on yourself. You are here now and you are putting in so much effort, that’s what counts. Please don’t compare yourself to others, as everyone has their own pace of learning and doing better. Try to apply different learning strategies such as active recall, studying in groups and asking each other questions or just making handwritten notes. See what works and what doesn’t. First year will fly in no time, I promise :) No one fails unless they don’t study at all or have other circumstances. Good luck!


150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Recognizing and Coping with Burnout

How do you cope with stress/burnout and being patient with yourself with what you can tackle? I'm a 3rd year Pharmacy Student and I feel like I am struggling a bit with juggling all the tasks (in & ou

Burnout from Pharmacy School

Question: I'm not really sure if I'm experiencing burnout or if I've just got a really pessimistic mindset, but I've been feeling like everything I do has been futile lately. I thought I'd be happy on

Preparing for the Midpoint Evaluation

Question: Hi mentors! I'm a second year student, and I am so nervous about the Midpoint Evaluation coming up in July. I know that technically we are not supposed to be preparing for it, but I honestly

bottom of page