top of page
  • uwrxprn

Body Positivity

TW: weight


Hi there, I’m just looking for some insight on some body positivity. When I look at myself in the mirror, I don’t think I look different, but when I step on the scale I see a different number than just 18 months ago. Even my pants fit tighter than they did. I’m not overweight, but I can’t help but shake the different number on the scale or the fact that I need to buy new pants. I just feel more self-conscious than I used to, but I’m not sure why. Any help would be appreciated


 

Response #1:


Hello! I just wanted to start off by saying that your self-worth is not based on what you look like. That being said, I can understand the insecurities around this topic. I used to dance which kept me active every day. But once I got to pharmacy school, there was less personal, and less motivation to workout. I also stress eat. And due to the pandemic, I haven’t been comfortable going to the gym. My body definitely experienced some change. Some things that have helped me are to remind myself of the stage of life I’m in. Pharmacy is an intense program with barely enough time to cook healthy meals, let alone exercise. Life won’t be this way forever so accepting that this is life for now has given me a different outlook. In terms of things you can do during pharmacy school, I’ve found it helpful to plan my meals in advance. Not necessarily make them, but know what to cook. This way I’m not just grabbing for anything I see when I’m in a rush. Using study breaks to stretch or get active also helps, and tends to boost energy for the next study session. I also find it hard to trust weight scales since weight can change based on water intake, bathroom habits, or even the time of day you decide to weigh yourself. I find building healthy habits better proof of your health status than what your clothes or scale are saying. I hope this was helpful and please reach out if this feeling you have persists.


Response #2


Hi there! I’m sorry you’re feeling this way. Body image is a very common and valid struggle that people experience day to day. Although it’s hard to see it this way, our worth is not determined by our weight or appearance. It’s only society that makes us feel like we should place importance on how we look. I struggled with my own body issues during pharmacy school because it seemed that stress made me overeat, which would lead to weight gain. I found I felt better by doing things that would make me proud of my body, such as some light exercise or something fun like Zumba. I would suggest you try to explore activities that make you feel good, even if it’s just going for walks or playing a sport. It’s natural to feel self-conscious, especially if you suddenly feel like something is different or if you start comparing yourself to how you used to look. I started feeling insecure when I realised that as I got older, it was harder to control my weight. But I also learned that having a really good support system helped me overcome my body image issues. Don’t be afraid to reach out to friends and family, because they will remind you that they love and accept you for who you are. The last thing I would suggest is to be forgiving to yourself. School and work are stressful, and sometimes our body reacts to this stress with changes. We can’t always keep everything in line when we’re under a lot of pressure, so give yourself a little compassion everyday. You’re doing amazing and you should be proud of how far you’ve come!


Response #3

Hey friend! Thank you for your vulnerability in sharing and know that this is a safe space. I have also struggled with body image, and even though what we may experience is different, I just want you to know you are not alone!


Personally, with pharmacy school and the pandemic, I lost the small things I integrated into my life that helped me stay healthy and active (i.e. walking to class, playing intramurals). Plus, the mental load and academic vigor required in our program gave me little time to unwind, and often I'd choose to get some sleep over getting my steps in. I think talking myself through these things helped tremendously as it forced me to be a lot kinder to myself and recognize that my life has changed in many ways, and its okay and normal that my body has changed too.


To also tackle the feelings I have with body, I've also tried to change my perspective on exercise and add micro-doses of exercise to my daily life. I really still struggle with this, but I really view my exercise for overall health rather than simply aiming for a specific weight (decrease that Framingham Risk Score!). In terms of micro-doses of exercise I try to integrate something as simple as daily/weekly walks or workout videos. I found that even short ones (5-10mins) have helped me get into a good headspace and help me focus on something different than work/school. For longer active items (hikes, spin class) its much easier to do so during co-op when we have less responsibilities outside of working/friends are available so I find that I try to capitalize on these times. We're all here to support you! Don't hesitate to rely on your support system, they're here and so happy to help when a friend reaches out.


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page